Category Archives: Marsh Translation

Waffle Hearts: Lena and Me in Mathildewick Cove

Waffle heartsNine-year-olds Trille and Lena live in the wonderful fjord-side village of Mathildewick Cove in Norway. They have crazy adventures and learn about love, friendship, loss, and loyalty. Lena is feisty and fearless and lives with her mum. Trille, the narrator, is sensitive and sensible and lives with his parents, three siblings, and Grandpa. One delightful escapade is when Lena and Trille create Noah’s “shark” on Uncle Tor’s fishing boat with a load of village animals. Another involves placing an ad for a dad for Lena in the local General Store window and getting a puppy instead. And of course, Auntie Granny makes the best waffles in the world! Silhouette illustrations grace the cover and the start of each of twenty short chapters. There is a smattering of Norwegian culture, which is interesting and lovely. Written in true Scandinavian style, this book is perfect for fans of Pippi Longstocking. It has also been made into a popular television series in Norway.  A U.S. edition, Adventures With Waffles, was published in 2015, by Candlewick.  mjw
Title: Waffle Hearts: Lena and Me in Mathildewick Cove
Author: Maria Parr
Illustrator
: Kate Forrester
Publisher
: Walker Books Ltd, London
Copyright
: 2013
Original Language
: Norwegian
Translator
: Guy Puzey
Original Title
: Vaffelhjarte
Original Publisher
: Det Norske Samlaget, Oslo
Original Copyright
: 2005
ISBN
: 978-1-4063-4136-2
Hardcover pages
: 240
Age range
: 9-11
Genre
: Fiction
Book setting
: Norway
Author’s ethnicity
: Norwegian
Author’s residence
: Norway
Illustrator’s ethnicity
: English
Illustrator’s residence
: Brighton, England
Translator’s ethnicity: Scotch
Translator’s residence: Scotland
Awards
: 2015 Marsh Translation Award shortlist, 2010 Prix Sorcieres (French), 2009 Brage Prize (Norwegian), 2008 Zilveren Griffel (Dutch)
Subjects
: Best friends, Grandparents, Single parents, Waffles

Anton and Piranha

Anton and PiranhaAnton is looking forward to his summer vacation with his grandparents, until they reach the campsite and discover there is no pool. There is just a dark, murky lake filled with disgusting sludge. He is deeply disappointed and cannot understand why the other kids are happy to dive bomb (Caramba!) and swim in it all day long. He goes fishing with his grandfather and discovers a friend – a fish he names Piranha. The humor in this funny, quirky tale about eccentric and witty Anton is universal. Amusing black and white illustrations supplement the text. There is a frog on the corners of the pages, which appears animated if you flick through them quickly. mjw
Title: Anton and Piranha
Author: Milena Baisch
Illustrator
: Elle Kusche
Publisher
: Andersen Press, London
Copyright
: 2013
Original Language
: German
Translator
: Chantal Wright
Original Title
: Anton Taucht Ab
Original Publisher
: Beltz and Celberg
Original Copyright
: 2010
ISBN
: 978-184-939-6196
Paperback pages
: 99
Age range
: 9-12
Genre
: Fiction
Author’s ethnicity
: German
Author’s residence
: Germany
Translator’s ethnicity
: English
Translator’s residence
: England
Awards
: 2011 German Youth Literature Prize, 2015 Marsh Award for Translation shortlist
Subjects
: Camping, Fish, Grandparents, Piranhas, Vacations

The Adventures Of Shola

SholaShola is a small white, highly cultivated and opinionated dog with a huge imagination. She lives with her long-suffering owner, Senor Grogo. Four short stories are included in this one volume, with comic pen and ink and watercolor illustrations on practically every double page spread. In the first story, Shola discovers her inner lioness. In the second, she leads the pack on a wild sheepboar hunt. Third, she helps another dog, Angelino, who is plagued by a mouse. And finally, Shola is visited by her eccentric Aunt Clementine from America, who can never remember the pronunciation of Shola’s name, but completely understands Sholas’ independence. Feisty Shola is used to doing and eating exactly what she wants and walking in the park without a collar and lead. The use of language is delightful, especially the use of rarely used words, like “discombobulated” and “rara avis” (Latin for strange creature). Shola doesn’t always understand the words and this results in some very funny consequences. mjw
Title: The Adventures Of Shola
Author: Bernardo Atxaga
Illustrator
: Mikel Valverde
Publisher
: Pushkin Children’s Books, London
Copyright
: 2013
Original Language
: Euskera (Basque)
Translator
: Translated into Spanish by the author.  Translated in English by Margaret Jull Costa.
Original Spanish Title
: Shola y los leones, Sholas y los jabalies, Shola y Angelino, Shola y la tia de America
Original Spanish Publisher
: Ediciones SM
Original Spanish Copyright
: 1995, 1997, 2006, forthcoming
ISBN
: 978-1-782690-09-2
Hardcover pages
: 220
Age range
: 9-12
Genre
: Fiction
Book setting
: Spain
Author’s ethnicity
: Basque
Author’s residence
: Spain
Illustrator’s ethnicity
: Basque
Illustrator’s residence
: Spain
Awards
: 2015 Marsh Award for Literature in Translation
Subjects
: Aunts, Dogs, Food, Lions, Human-animal interactions, Short stories, Wild boar

The Spaghetti Detectives

The Spaghetti Detective Book Cover Rico is “a child proddity,” not prodigy, because his brain works like a “drum full of bingo balls.”  He is also directionally challenged.  His wondering about a single strand of spaghetti on the sidewalk outside his Berlin apartment leads him to Oscar, who is a true child prodigy.  Oscar has a high IQ, a lot of anxieties, and he always wears a blue motorcycle helmet to protect his brain. When Oscar is kidnapped, Rico sets out to find his friend and catch the serial kidnapper know as Mr. 2000. This short novel with compelling characters is thoughtful and fun. mjw
Title: The Spaghetti Detectives
Author: Andreas Steinhofel
Publisher
: Chicken House, an imprint of Scholastic Inc.
Copyright
: 2011
Original language
: German
Translator
: Chantal Wright
Original title
: Rico, Oskar und die Tieferschatten
Original publisher
: Carlsen Verlag Gmb H, Hamburg
Original copyright
: 2008
ISBN
: 978-0-545-28975-7
Hardcover pages
: 176
Age range
: 8-14
Genre
: Fiction
Book setting
: Berlin, Germany
Author’s residence
: Germany
Awards
: 2009 German Youth Literature Prize, 2011 Marsh Award for Translation shortlist
Subjects
: Apartment houses, Attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder, Berlin, Europe, Germany, Mystery and detective stories, Single parent families, Western Europe

Letters To Anyone And Everyone

Letters to Anyone and Everyone Book Cover Snails, elephants, bears, ants, crickets, and squirrels write whimsical letters to one another.  Twenty-three little stories are are included.  Some are humorous, like The Elephant who cannot keep his balance and The Bear who just wants to eat cake.  Some are philosophical, like The Squirrel who wonders about the table and writes a letter to a letter.  Tellegen’s world of the imagination is perfectly complemented by Ahlberg’s delicate watercolors.  A ribbon bookmark adds to the charm of this little book. mjw
Title: Letters To Anyone And Everyone
Author: Toon Tellegen
Illustrator
: Jessica Ahlberg
Publisher
: Boxer Books Limited
Copyright
: 2009
Original language
: Dutch
Translator
: Martin Cleaver
Original publisher
: Em. Querido’s Uitgeverij B.V.
Original copyright
: 1996
ISBN
: 978-1-906250-95-9
Hardcover pages
: 156
Age range
: 6 up
Genre
: Fiction
Author’s residence
: The Netherlands
Illustrator’s residence
: England
Awards
: 2011 Marsh Award for Children’s Literature in Translation
Subjects
: Animals, Children’s stories, Dutch, Epistolary fiction, Letters, Netherlands, Western Europe

Themba: A Boy Called Hope

Themba A Boy Called Hope Book Cover Young Themba lives in poverty with his mother and younger sister in rural South Africa and dreams of becoming a famous soccer player.  This is a rags to riches story about hope, triumph, and family love, but it is also an eye-opening story about the secretiveness and shame surrounding HIV/AIDS.  The novel was made into an international movie which won the UNICEF Child Rights Award in 2010. mjw
Title: Themba: A Boy Called Hope
Author: Lutz Van Dijk
Publisher
: Aurora Metro Books
Copyright
: 2011
Original language
: German
Translator
: Karin Chubb
Original title
: Themba
Original publisher
: cbj Verlag, Muenchen a division of Verlagsgruppe Random House GmbH
Original copyright
: 2006
ISBN
: 978-1-906582-21-0
Paperback pages
: 166
Age range
: 12 up
Genre
: Fiction
Book setting
: South Africa
Author’s residence
: South Africa
Awards
: Marsh Award for Children’s Literature in Translation Shortlist
Subjects
: AIDS, Africa, Bafana, Secrecy, Soccer, South Africa

My Own Special Way

My Own Special Way Book CoverHamda feels left out.  She wants to make necklaces, go shopping, and bake cakes like her older sisters do.  She has also made up her mind that she wants to wear the veil.  She chooses four different scarves and unsuccessfully tries four different ways to wear them.  She finally finds her own special way to prove she’s a big girl.  Told in five short chapters and illustrated with bold, colorful patterns, this entertaining story focuses on the Muslim experience of wearing the veil mjw
Title: My Own Special Way
Author: Mithaa Alkhayyat
Illustrator
: Maya Fidawi
Publisher
: Orion House
Copyright
: 2012
Original language
: Arabic
Translator
: Fatima Sharafeddini
Original title
: Tareeqati Al Khassa
Original publisher
: Kalimat Publishing and Distribution
Original copyright
: 2010
ISBN
: 978-1-4440-0320-8
Paperback pages
: 64
Age range
: 5-7
Genre
: Early reader/Fiction
Author’s residence
: United Arab Emirates
Illustrator’s residence
: Lebanon
Awards
: 2013 Marsh Award for Children’s Literature in Translation Shortlist
Subjects
: Asia, fashion, Hijab (Islamic clothing), United Arab Emirates, Western Asia