Waffle Hearts: Lena and Me in Mathildewick Cove

Waffle heartsNine-year-olds Trille and Lena live in the wonderful fjord-side village of Mathildewick Cove in Norway. They have crazy adventures and learn about love, friendship, loss, and loyalty. Lena is feisty and fearless and lives with her mum. Trille, the narrator, is sensitive and sensible and lives with his parents, three siblings, and Grandpa. One delightful escapade is when Lena and Trille create Noah’s “shark” on Uncle Tor’s fishing boat with a load of village animals. Another involves placing an ad for a dad for Lena in the local General Store window and getting a puppy instead. And of course, Auntie Granny makes the best waffles in the world! Silhouette illustrations grace the cover and the start of each of twenty short chapters. There is a smattering of Norwegian culture, which is interesting and lovely. Written in true Scandinavian style, this book is perfect for fans of Pippi Longstocking. It has also been made into a popular television series in Norway.  A U.S. edition, Adventures With Waffles, was published in 2015, by Candlewick.  mjw
Title: Waffle Hearts: Lena and Me in Mathildewick Cove
Author: Maria Parr
Illustrator
: Kate Forrester
Publisher
: Walker Books Ltd, London
Copyright
: 2013
Original Language
: Norwegian
Translator
: Guy Puzey
Original Title
: Vaffelhjarte
Original Publisher
: Det Norske Samlaget, Oslo
Original Copyright
: 2005
ISBN
: 978-1-4063-4136-2
Hardcover pages
: 240
Age range
: 9-11
Genre
: Fiction
Book setting
: Norway
Author’s ethnicity
: Norwegian
Author’s residence
: Norway
Illustrator’s ethnicity
: English
Illustrator’s residence
: Brighton, England
Translator’s ethnicity: Scotch
Translator’s residence: Scotland
Awards
: 2015 Marsh Translation Award shortlist, 2010 Prix Sorcieres (French), 2009 Brage Prize (Norwegian), 2008 Zilveren Griffel (Dutch)
Subjects
: Best friends, Grandparents, Single parents, Waffles

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s