Hans Christian Andersen Award

hcrEvery other year, the International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY) presents the Hans Christian Andersen Awards to a living author and illustrator whose complete works have made a lasting contribution to children’s literature.  The Hans Christian Andersen Award is the highest international recognition given to an author and an illustrator of children’s books.  Her Majesty Queen Margrethe II of Denmark is the Patron of the Andersen Awards.  The Author’s Award has been given since 1956 and the Illustrator’s Award since 1966.  The award consists of a gold medal and a diploma, presented at a ceremony during the biennial IBBY Congress.  Winners receive 500.000 kr ($85,000).

To see the OmniLibros books that have won this award, click on the name of the award under Search by Award in the sidebar.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s