Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award

almaThe Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award is an international children’s literary award established by the Swedish government in 2002 to honor the Swedish children’s author Astrid Lindgren (1907-2002).  The prize is five million SEK, ($714,000), making it the richest award in children’s literature and the third richest literary prize in the world.  The object of the award is to increase interest in children’s and young people’s literature and to promote children’s rights to culture on a global view.  The award is administered by the Swedish Arts Council and funded solely by the central government.  Officially, it is called “an award by the Swedish people to the world”.

To see the OmniLibros books that have won this award, click on the name of the award under Search by Award in the sidebar.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s