The Nowhere Emporium

the nowhere emporiumRunning from a group of bullies, Daniel Holmes, orphaned at a young age, stumbles upon the magical Nowhere Emporium in Glasgow – a shop from nowhere. Its owner, Lucien Silver, recruits Daniel to be his apprentice and Daniel enters a world of magic and enchantment. The Emporium is made up of passageways and rooms that belong to different locations and times. When Mr. Silver disappears, Vindictus Sharpe appears and threatens the existence of the Emporium and everyone in it. Daniel’s journey is full of wonderful imaginative fantasy and colorful descriptions that will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman, Philip Pullman, and the Harry Potter books. mjw
Title: The Nowhere Emporium
Author: Ross MacKenzie
Illustrator
: Ross MacKenzie
Publisher
: Floris Books
Copyright
: 2015
Original Language
: English
ISBN
: 978-178250-125-1
Paperback pages
: 280
Age range
: 8-12
Genre
: Fantasy, Fiction
Book setting
: Glasgow, Edinburgh, Paris, Barcelona, Manhattan
Author’s ethnicity
: Scottish
Author’s residence
: Renfrew, Scotland
Illustrator’s ethnicity
: Scottish
Illustrator’s residence
: Renfrew, Scotland
Awards
: 2016 Scottish Children’s Book Award -ages 8-11, 2016 Blue Peter Award: Best Story
Subjects
: Fantasy, Glasgow, Imagination, Magic, Mystery, Science Fiction

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s