I Capture The Castle

I Capture The CastleReaders follow seventeen-year-old Cassandra’s diary accounting her life with her extraordinary family in their crumbling castle. Her family slides into genteel poverty after her father falls into a long phase of writer’s block. Rose, Cassandra’s sister, is desperate to marry for riches as a way of supporting her family. The castle’s atmosphere changes when their new neighbors and landlords from America arrive. Rose and Cassandra discover that the heart cannot choose who it falls in love with no matter how hard the mind may try. Fans of Jane Austen and Charlotte Bronte will be enchanted by this captivating and bittersweet read. The author, who is best known for her novel The Hundred And One Dalmatians, wrote I Capture The Castle during World War II when she moved to California. Cassandra’s story is inspired by the  author’s experiences in England during the 1930s. ema
Title: I Capture The Castle
Author: Dodie Smith (1896-1990)
Publisher: Vintage Classics
Copyright
: 2012
Original Language
: English
Original Title
: I Capture The Castle
Original Publisher
: William Heinemann
Original Copyright: 1949
ISBN
: 978-0-099-57288-6
Paperback pages: 566
Age range
: 14 up
Genre
: Historical Fiction
Book setting
: 1930s England
Author’s ethnicity
: English
Subjects
: Artists, Castles, Love, Poverty, Romance, Sisters, Writers

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s